Day 22: It’s Officially Shrimp Season!

After learning about the good news that cooking is an exercise I can consider in MyFitnessPal app, I now consider it as part of my regular activities.

Here’s my stats for today:

June 28, 2017

Goal: 1200 calories

-Food: 1258 calories

+Exercise: 57 calories

=Remaining: 0 calories

At this rate, it will take some time for me to lose significant weight. If I really want lose the 20 pounds I initially targeted, I NEED to move some more. Beyond cooking and cleaning the apartment.

For now, I consider this an achievement to stay in my allowed calorie-zone (1000-1200 calories per day). I feel I have enough energy to go through my day, so that’s fine.

Some may argue that calorie counting is not exactly the best weight loss plan out there. Well, maybe they’re right. But my goal, aside from to lose weight, is also to know what I am eating, and what nourishment it gives my body.

Using the app allows me to determine the nutritional content of what I eat, and I think that’s a good start. Having a high LDL cholesterol count is something I want to address, so it’s a must that I track the fat content of what I eat.

Anyway, here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast: coffee, gluten-free cornmeal muffin

Lunch: Brown rice, leftover Sinigang na Hipon

Afternoon Snack: coffee, gluten-free cornmeal muffin (I still have some in the fridge, help me finish this!)

Dinner: Brown rice, spicy prawn kimchi stew with tofu

Midnight Snack: roasted almonds

Water: 1000ml

Hmmm, I notice I’ve been drinking less water. Gotta aim higher to drink 2000ml a day!

What else? Today I had too much carbs, thanks to the 2 cornmeal muffins I ate today. Plus my usual brown rice. Total carbs today was 18g beyond my target of 157g, or approximately 52% of my entire meal. Was that too much?

Anyway, I also went beyond my protein target. Consumed 70g in total, my target being 63g. My protein sources today were the shrimps and tofu.

I’m using a lot of shrimps these days in my cooking because I have a lot of them in my freezer! Somebody gave them to me, which is perfect since I love shrimps -I can really overeat I don’t control myself.

According to Health.com, shrimps are low in calories, and also high in cholesterol. They are very low in saturated fats, and doesn’t contain trans fat, unless it’s been fried or cooked in a way that adds trans fat. With that, I limit the portion and make sure I only use olive oil when I cook my shrimps, either boiled or sauteed but never fried.

Watch out tomorrow for my next post, and expect to see more shrimps in my diet.

Bye for now, it’s time for me to prepare my lunch.

Leave a Reply

