Day 24: Achieving My Mission One Day at a Time

It’s the last day of June. That time of the month when you feel like wrapping things up, and prepping for the next one.

I look back at the last 24 days of my weight loss journey, and feel a sense of mission to respect and take care of my body.

I learned to strive for balance between rigidity and reward, and to focus on the essence of what I’m really trying to achieve.

Here are my calorie counts for today:

June 30, 2017

Goal: 1200 calories

-Food: 1092 calories

+Exercise: 126 calories

=Remaining: 234 calories

My body has adjusted to this level of food consumption on a regular day. If I feel hungry in between meals, I learned to reach out for my water bottle first.

If I still feel peckish, I’d grab some roasted almonds, or a piece of fruit. If not, I’m happy with my afternoon coffee which I slurp more than sip, as I do my usual writing.

Here’s what I had today:

Breakfast: coffee, gluten-free cornmeal muffin

Lunch: the last batch of beef chili, plus another gluten-free cornmeal muffin (God, how many muffins did I make?)

Afternoon Snack: coffee

Dinner: Brown rice, grilled chicken breasts (marinated in Greek yogurt and spices), shrimps and squash in coconut milk, and salted caramel ice cream

Water: 1500ml

As you can see, I’m desperately trying to finish off these cornmeal muffins! I baked a dozen of them, and gave away 3. So I was left with 9 to finish within the week. No wonder my carbs are spiking up!

And there are my shrimps over there, along with some Kabocha squash, stewed in some coconut milk, ginger and garlic. To add crunch to the mushy dish, I added some crisp-fried dilis (Philippine anchovy) for a bit of contrast in texture.

The ice cream was part of last night’s mini party (which I skipped) and now I reward myself with half a cup.

By the way, the ice cream brand: “Nestle Temptations.” Aptly named indeed.

Leave a Reply

